AOPA Announces Two Inaugural Research Awards

The National Assembly at the Mirage in Las Vegas will feature the inaugural presentation of two new awards that recognize research from current orthotic and prosthetic (O&P) students and residents, according to the American Orthotic & Prosthetic Association (AOPA).

Students and residents within the O&P field are encouraged to present research abstracts in the form of poster presentations. An independent committee will evaluate the poster presentations and choose one abstract as the winner of the award for orthotic presentations and one abstract as the winner of the prosthetic presentations.

Contributions from Becker Orthopedic and WillowWood have established these awards and enabled them to be an annual feature of the AOPA National Assembly alongside the Thranhardt Lecture Series and the Sam E. Hamontree Business Education Award. The Otto and Lucille Becker Award, endowed through a gift from Becker Orthopedic, will be presented to the best orthotic abstract submitted for a poster presentation and the Edwin and Kathryn Arbogast Award, endowed through a gift from WillowWood, will be presented to the best prosthetic abstract submitted for a poster presentation.

“AOPA is honored that Becker Orthopedic and WilliowWood have selected the National Assembly as a forum in which the legacies of two iconic families in the O&P community will be remembered and celebrated through the acknowledgement of new and emerging research talent in our profession,” Tom DiBello, CO, FAAOP, AOPA president, said in a press release. “Otto and Lucille Becker and Edwin and Kathryn Arbogast are remembered fondly for their contributions to the technological advancement of the field and it is apt that the next generation of research will be inspired and rewarded in their memory.”

Students in baccalaureate or master’s level O&P programs and residents at qualified patient care facilities are invited to submit abstracts online at: The deadline for submissions is August 30 and winners will be notified by September 2. If you would like more information about submitting abstracts contact Tina Moran at or call (571) 431-0808.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.