Paralyzed Veterans of America announces 2016-2017 leadership team

Paralyzed Veterans of America recently announced its leadership for the 2016-2017 term, which begins July 1, 2016.

Sherman Gillums Jr. was appointed executive director and Al Kovach Jr. was re-elected as president. According to a press release from Paralyzed Veterans, Gillums had been serving as acting executive director since January 2016 and Kovach had previously served two terms as president.

In addition, David Zurfluh was re-elected as national senior vice president; Hack Albertson, Charles Brown, Joseph “Joe” Fox Sr. and Kean Weas were re-elected as national vice presidents; Larry Dodson was re-elected national secretary; and Tom Wheaton was re-elected national treasurer. Bill Lawson will continue to serve as the organization’s immediate past president.

“It is an honor to lead an organization that did so much for me when I was newly paralyzed in 2002,” Gillums said in the release. “I follow in the footsteps of some great men who moved Paralyzed Veterans of America forward, in some cases against tremendous odds. Now that I have been entrusted with that responsibility, I will ensure we never lose focus of our core purposes — to give catastrophically wounded and disabled veterans a voice in media, society and government; as well as deliver programs and services that tangibly impact those we serve.”




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.