Chris Waddell First American Elected to Paralympic Hall of Fame

The Visa Paralympic Hall of Fame induction ceremony, to be held in Whistler, B.C. on March 14 at the Paralympic Hospitality Centre, will feature the third group of Paralympic athletes to be inducted into the Hall of Fame by the International Paralympic Committee (IPC).

The IPC has selected three Paralympians for induction in 2010: cross-country skier Tanja Kari of Finland, U.S. alpine skier Chris Waddell, and biathlon and cross-country skiing coach Rolf Hettich of Germany. The three inductees were nominated by IPC member organizations based on their athletic performance, history of fair play and participation in community service, and then selected by the IPC’s governing board.

The Paralympic Hall of Fame ensures a permanent record and institutional memory of the top Paralympic athletes and coaches of all time, thus honoring the performers who achieved a high and sustained level of success in both the Summer and Winter Games.

“The IPC is proud to induct Chris Waddell, Tanja Kari and Rolf Hettich into the Visa Paralympic Hall of Fame. It is a thrill to be recognizing these three individuals and I congratulate their outstanding achievements on and off the field of play,” Sir Philip Craven, IPC president, said in a press release. “The Paralympic Hall of Fame not only celebrates excellence in competition, but it offers young athletes a positive role model to look up to in their future endeavors in Paralympic sport. The IPC thanks Visa for their continued support and commitment.”

To be eligible, athletes and coaches retired from Paralympic sporting competitions for at least 4 years must have achieved a high and sustained level of success at the Paralympic Games. They also must have consistently displayed a spirit of fair play, and made a positive contribution to the Paralympic movement.

Paralympic Hall of Fame election and induction ceremonies are held during the years of Paralympic Summer and Winter Games. The Paralympic Hall of Fame currently exists as a virtual Hall of Fame on the IPC Web site at

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.