American Academy of Orthotists and Prosthetists announces new board members

The American Academy of Orthotists and Prosthetists has announced its newly elected members of the board of directors for the 2015-2016 year. Board members will take office on July 1.

This year’s president of the executive committee is M. Jason Highsmith, PT, DPT, PhD, CP, FAAOP, an assistant professor at the University of South Florida’s School of Physical Therapy & Rehabilitation Sciences. President-elect is Richard W. Miller, CO. Vice president is Alicia J. Davis, MPA, CPO, FAAOP, residency director of the University of Michigan Orthotics & Prosthetics Center. The treasurer will be Leigh Davis, MSPO, CPO, FAAOP, a practitioner at Children’s Healthcare of Atlanta at Meridian Mark.

M. Jason Highsmith

Richard W. Miller

Alicia J. Davis

Leigh Davis


The immediate past president is Phillip M. Stevens, MEd, CPO, FAAOP, a practitioner for Hanger Prosthetics & Orthotics, and ex-officia is Peter D. Rosenstein, the executive director of the American Academy of Orthotists and Prosthetists (AAOP).

The board’s at-large members for the year include Kate J. Allyn, CPO, FAAOP, a research prosthetist at the University of Washington Bioengineering Lab; John T. Brinkmann, MA, CPO/L, FAAOP, an instructor in physical medicine and rehabilitation at Northwestern University Prosthetics-Orthotics Center; Jared A. Howell, MS, CPO, an assistant professor and director of the Orthotics and Prosthetics Program at Baylor College of Medicine; Susan Kapp, MEd, CPO, LPO, FAAOP, an associate professor in the department of health care sciences and director of the Prosthetics-Orthotics Program at UT Southwestern Medical Center; and Sarah Thomas, CPO, a practitioner at Bio-Medic Appliances.

Phillip M. Stevens

Peter D. Rosenstein


Kate J. Allyn

John T. Brinkmann

Jared A. Howell

Susan Kapp

Sarah Thomas


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.