Amputee Coalition announces Scott Decker scholarship recipients

The Amputee Coalition has announced Brickelle Bro, Austin Brown, Amy Frank and Tyson Higel as recipients of the 2015 Scott Decker, MD, Memorial Scholarship.

The annual scholarship is presented to high school seniors, recent high school graduates, current college students and adults returning to school with congenital limb loss who excel academically and within their communities, according to a press release. Each recipient will receive $1,000 toward their college tuition for the 2015-2016 academic year.

Brickelle Bro

Austin Brown

Amy Frank

Tyson Higel


Bro, a member of the U.S. Paralympic Swim team, will attend Stanford University to study psychology and the mental impact of limb loss. Brown will attend Washington State University to study engineering. Frank will attend Texas A&M to pursue a degree in geophysics. Higel, a member of the USA Volleyball’s A2 Sitting Volleyball team, currently attends Northwest Missouri State University for therapeutic recreation and hopes to play in the 2020 Paralympics.

“The Amputee Coalition is very pleased to have so many qualified applicants for the Scott Decker scholarship that we were able to award four different individuals,” Susan Stout, president and CEO of the Amputee Coalition, said in a press release. “Each of these young people have learned to live successfully with limb loss and each have clear goals for their future.”


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.