Winner of 2016 Thranhardt Award announced

Beatrice Janka, MPO, CPO, has been announced as the winner of the 2016 Thranhardt Award, according to a press release.

Beatrice Janka

Janka is a clinical prosthetist-orthotist and product development engineer at Becker Orthopedic. She received the award based on her lecture, “The Effects of AFO Stiffness and Alignment on Lower Extremity Kinematics in Stroke and Multiple Sclerosis,” which was given at the American Orthotic and Prosthetic Association National Assembly in Boston.

The study investigated the effects of AFO mechanical characteristics on biomechanical variables and evaluated these in the context of biomechanical deficits, according to the release. Kinematic data showed systematic changes in biomechanical variables when AFO mechanical characteristics were varied. In some cases, the orthotic influence was predictable and appeared to be significantly affected by the pattern of biomechanical deficits, the findings showed.

The Thranhardt Award, launched by a gift from J.E. Hanger in memory of Howard R. Thranhardt, CP, recognizes individuals committed to advancing O&P education.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.