BOC board of directors announces new officers, members

The Board of Certification/Accreditation has announced the members of its 2017 executive committee, as well as two new additions to its board of directors, according to a press release.

The two newest members of the board of directors are Von M. Homer, MSc, BOCPD, and John “Sion” Owen Jr., MA, BOCPD, CDME.

Homer is co-director of the Motion Analysis Center at the Barry University School of Podiatric Medicine, where he is a full-time clinical faculty assistant professor. He also holds secondary research faculty appointments at the Baltimore Veterans Affairs Medical Center Geriatric Research Education and Clinical Center, and Delaware State University. According to the release, he has published work in Current Pedorthics, and is currently pursuing a doctorate in neuroscience and research and evaluation.

Owen is the owner of multiple Foot Solutions stores, specializing in footwear and accessories. He previously worked in the home medical supply field, the release noted.

“We are extremely fortunate that Von and Sion are joining the [Board of Certification/Accreditation] BOC board of directors,” L. Bradley “Brad” Watson, BOCO, BOCP, LPO, BOC board chairman, said in the release. “The new executive committee and the entire board will benefit from their strategic perspectives as we work together to chart the course for the future success of BOC, our credential holders and the community of patients we serve.”

Watson, who is also president of Clarksville Limb + Brace + Rehab, was elected as chairman of the BOC’s 2017 executive committee, which is made up of members of the board of directors. Other recently elected executive committee members include: Rod Borkowski, CDME, president of Health Essentials, as vice chair; Wayne R. Rosen, BOCP, BOCO, FAAOP, owner of W.R. Rosen Inc., as secretary; Shane Ryley, BOCP, BOCO, area clinic manager at Hanger Orthopedic Group, as treasurer; R. Jeffrey “Jeff” Hedges, CDME, president of R.J. Hedges and Associates, as member-at-large; and James L. Hewlett, BOCO, who will continue to serve as immediate past chair.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.